History of Sangrur

General Introduction

With the amalgamation of the erstwhile princely states in the Union of India, District Sangrur came into existence with effect from 1.9.1949. Formerly, Sangrur was the capital of Jind State After the re-organisation of States, sub-division. Jind of this district was transferred to Haryana on 1.11.1966.

For Police administration, the State Govt. has divided District Sangrur into two Police District w.e.f. 16.12.91. As such Police District Barnala came into existence with Police Stations Barnala, Dhanaula, Tappa, Mehal Kalan, Sehna, Bhadaur and Sherpur.

Area and Boundaries :

District Sangrur having an area of 3625 Sq. KM. This district is surrounded by District Patiala, Mansa, Barnala, Police District Khanna, Ludhiana (Rural) , and the boundaries of district Jind and Hissar (Haryana State).


The population of this district is approximately 16,54,408. Out of the entire population, the population of males of Sangrur District is 8,78,628 whereas female is 7,75,780.


District Sangrur has 603 Villages, 5 Cities and 8 Towns, 8 Muncipal Committees and 4 Nagar Councils. The Cities/Towns/M.Cs and Nagar Councils of this district are :-

Cities Towns Municipal Committees Nagar Councils
1. Sangrur 1. Khanauri 1. Sangrur 1.Dirba
2. Malerkotla 2. Moonak 2. Dhuri 2. Cheema
3. Sunam 3. Dirba 3. Malerkotla 3. Moonak
4. Dhuri 4. Lehra 4. Ahmedgarh 4. Khanauri
5. Ahmedgarh 5. Cheema 5. Sunam
6. Longowal 6. Lehra
7. Bhawanigaerh 7. Longowal
8. Sherpur 8. Bhawanigarh


Sangrur is a Parliamentary Constituency, but area of its Assembly Constituency Amargarh falls under Parliamentary Constituency Fatehgarh Sahib

Assembly Constituencies in District Sangrur

  1. Lehra
  2. Dirba
  3. Sunam
  4. Sangrur
  5. Dhuri
  6. Malerkotla
  7. Amargarh